GET OFF OF THE INTERSTATE. PLEASE?

In case you did not know, the Federal Highway System was envisioned by President Eisenhower and ultimately got it’s start in his second term.

( http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/interstate/faq.cfm#question2 ). I have heard that is was designed to move Troops across the Nation, and I have heard that it was designed to help with the growth of the Nation following WW2. Needless to say it has had a lasting effect on our Country and Culture since.

This last winter I had the opportunity to go with my Boy Scout Troop to Vermont for their yearly ski trip. I am no longer a skier but wanted to revisit some of my old stomping grounds from when I was younger. So I volunteered to go and be their cook for the weekend.

My first rude awakening came on Friday night when I hit Route 4 in Vermont. No longer was it the twisty windy road that traveled through the mountains and sleepy little towns that I remembered. Now it had become a 4, or 6 lane super highway which I call a bypass. Off in the distance I could see the lights of the towns but that was about it.

On Saturday I decided to take a ride and stay off of the Interstate/bypass. The old adage that you can never go home again is true, I didn’t see much that I recalled, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying what was left. I saw beautiful buildings that had been restored, and old buildings that, although looked inhabited, looked decrepit.

The U.S. of A. is filled with many many beautiful things to see. All we have to do is get off of the internet to see them.

Leave a Reply

