MENTAL HEALTH DAY

Today I decided to take a mental health day. Everyone should do this once in a while!

Now, in all actuality I have  not worked full-time since last November due to an injury that I received on the job in 2013. But it did not become official until April of this year. But that’s neither here nor there because the point of this is really to take a Mental Health Day. How can you take a Mental Health Day if you’re not working? Well that’s a good question actually I am working part time I’m driving for Uber and just finished a six week stand working at a Boy Scout camp. The camp was a lot harder than I expected many long hours but I was able to keep from walking a lot because they assigned me a fantastic group of merit badge counselors. The people that ran the camp knew about my knee injury and work very close to me with me.

After spending six weeks working at the camp I came home and found it impossible to sit still. Finally it all came crashing down yesterday. So today I’m taking a Mental Health Day.

Somewhere between getting injured on the job and leaving the job I came to the conclusion that we were not put on this planet to work 50 or 60 hours a week for 20 plus years. So I’ve developed a new attitude I’m going to work as much as I need to to pay bills. My goal is to figure out how to cut some expenses. That will not be easy considering I’m addicted to technology. I don’t watch much television but I do like to watch the Yankees play and therefore keep coming up with reasons as why not to drop DIRECTV. I’m formulating some plans to turn my technological addiction into some type of income. As my friend Marc tells me if you like what you’re doing then it’s not a job.

At the top of the page you’ll notice that I have changed the picture on my blog. This is where I’m sitting right now for my mental health day. We happen to be very fortunate because this is located in the town in which I live. I have lived in New Jersey now for way too many years now  (I know the joke which exit? Where we live there is no exit so the joke’s on you.) The town I live in has a county park in it that is very reminiscent of the Catskill Mountains without all the hills but while sitting here one could get lost and forget you’re in New Jersey. This park has hiking trails, biking trails, and this gorgeous pond that I’m sitting in front of. And of course bears.

Well I could go on writing about this beautiful spot but to tell the truth the scenery is too nice to continue to ignore and I also have a great book to read. So now I will take a break from my break (go figure that one out) and stare at the scenery and read my book while the rest of you go back to whatever it was you were doing.

Leave a Reply

