DEAR DIARY

AUGUST 9, 2015 8:00 AM EDT.

Dear Diary,

Wow has it been that long since I last visited with you? Time surely flies. So I guess the first question is where have I been. Well for the last six weeks I have been working in a Summer Camp for Boy Scouts. I was lucky enough to get hired as the Scoutcraft Director. I have to tell you, I had absolutely no idea what that all entailed. After being involved with Scouting for seventeen years this was my first time on the other side of the program in a camp. I give these people a lot of credit. The weeks are very, very long, especially when  you are creeping up on the big 6-0. Our week began at 10:30am on Sunday and ran until 11:00am on Saturday. The days began at 7:30 and ended somewhere around 9-9:30 every night. Needless to say, the pay wasn’t the greatest but the opportunity to work with some of America’s youth (read- future) was priceless. I got to see a microcosm of what is in store for our Great Nation. But more on that at another time.

I was lucky enough to have been assigned a great group of Staff to teach Merit Badges. Every one of them have either been on Staff previous years or were Counselors in Training last year. Being ‘Green’ myself, made them a major asset. Without which the program would have been a mess. Talk about on the job training. These guys were so knowledgeable that at times it was hard to believe that they ranged in age from 15 to 17 yrs old. After the first week, I feel that we were functioning as a well oiled machine.

Since I have never been a Merit Badge Counselor before, I had to get up to speed pretty quickly. Oh, it is not that  I did not know the material, but it was that I have never had to teach it by the book, line by line, before.

Have you ever woken up and felt that ‘Today was the first day of the rest of your life?’ Well that is how today feels. It took me hours and hours to get out of the Camp mode and I have more decompressing to do. I wanted to sleep until 10am today but that wasn’t in the cards.

Well, Diary, I have to go for now. Breakfast is calling. I think that I will eat it on the porch and just chill for a bit. Yeah, that’s the ticket. See you soon.

 

August 9, 2015 7:50pm

I went to the Sussex County Fair this afternoon to meet Alice and hang with the Woodcarvers besides eating junk food and watching the people it was a nice quiet afternoon. The only thing I had on my agenda today was to lay in my hammock in the shade. There’s always another day

August 11, 2015 7:30 am

Dear Diary,

So get this. On Saturday night I got locked out of my car and my son’s house while dog sitting. (I guess that I should have mentioned this earlier). I usually carry an extra car key since when I was a Salesperson I would do paperwork before entering an account and many times get out of the car with the keys on the passenger seat. One learns the hard way. But for some reason I did not have a spare key in my backpack. Not only that, there was only one other key to the house and that was in my son’s car up at the shop having work done to it. Alice had to get the key from the shop, and let me into the house to feed the dogs. I know not so interesting is it. Wait. I was spending the time out on the porch reading my Kindle. I thought that I would be the last person on the planet to give up holding a newspaper or a real book made from paper but oddly enough I do almost all of my reading digitally now. But I digress. When Alice finally arrived I put my Kindle into the backpack and forgot all about it. The next morning I couldn’t find it and called Alice (it was her turn to stay with the pups) and she searched high and low but no Kindle. I ripped my car apart but still no Kindle. Being the nut case that I am I needed to get a new Kindle ASAP. So I bought one. Now to last night. I was in our Livingroom when I spotted my original Kindle on a table. It seems that Alice saw it on the couch under a pillow. So it must have fallen out of my pack when I got home Saturday night. Needless to say it is back to Staples today to return the new one. So it goes.

August 12,2015 7:35 pm

Dear Diary,

I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to try this approach to blogging. Either my life just isn’t that interesting, or keeping a real to goodness Diary is so colloquial that it is boring. So For you that have read this far. Bless you. And from now on it’s back to plain old blogging and pissing people off.

RatStay tuned. More to come. Or as they used to say, “Film at eleven.”

 

Leave a Reply

