HAPPY FATHER’S DAY, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY,>>>HAPPY EVERYDAY!!!!!!

Mom and DadThe picture above is of my parents and our beloved dog Jolie taken sometime in the early 1970’s.

Author’s Note: What follows may upset some people. That is not my intention and if you read this through you may agree. If you don’t, as always I love comments and criticism.

I realize that we are living in a Capitalistic Democratic Republic. I know that even Hallmark is entitled to make a profit and grow as a company. BUT I am also a late Baby Boomer that grew up with Romper Room and Captain Kangaroo every morning before I was old enough for Kindergarten. Every morning the good Captain would end his show by telling us children, “…and remember, be good to your Mother because every day is Mother’s Day.” Guilt trip or not, I grew up believing that about both of my parents. Of course there were times when hormones kicked in and I needed a light ‘tap’ to bring my ass back down to reality because I did test the limits (again another blog for ‘Life’s Lessons Day)  but overall I am lucky enough to have had a good relationship with both of my parents.

They did their best to teach me, right from wrong, good from evil, that the nasty kids that teased me in School didn’t mean shit in the game of life. But most of all I learned respect. Whether I agreed with their thoughts on an incident or not, I learned to respect their reasoning. And pissed off or not, I sat in my room and thought it over until I was ‘ungrounded’. My Father would get his point across by explaining where he was coming from and of course I did not understand it at the time, but now as a parent of two young men I do. And not a day goes by when I don’t hear one of them, in my head, guiding me (a 59 year old who talks first and listens later)  on their take of a situation.

These are the people that were my Role Models. Not Mickey Mantle, not J.F. Kennedy, not Jerry Garcia (Okay I lied about Jerry Garcia). My parents. Both worked when my brother and I were school age, but we still all ate together. Not easy when my Father didn’t get home until 6:30pm. We had food in the refrigerator, clothes on our backs and a roof over our heads.

My Great Grandmother lived with my Great Aunt until she passed away. She wasn’t sent to a home to live out her days waiting for someone to remember that her heart was still ticking. My Aunt stayed with my Grandmother when she was dying of cancer and took care of her. These are role models.

Maybe the Chinese have one thing right, they treat their elders as people of wisdom, not a nuisance that is just in the way.

Yes, I know that there are a billion of you out there that will say but…… and have reasons for this or that or Hallmark. And I will not disagree with you. I am just passing my examples as I travel through this journey of life.

I touched many things here that could be blogs on their own. That is what happens when you are a person with adult A.D.D. So I will end here by saying remember:

EVERYDAY IS FATHER’S DAY, EVERYDAY IS MOTHER’S DAY,

Now go out and crank up the Barbie, burn those steaks, eat that corn and celebrate your true Role Models.

Leave a Reply

