NYTimes: Study Finds More Reasons to Get and Stay Married

So I was reading this article in today’s NY Times. At first it was an article about tying knots (see the picture in the article). But I realized that I was way off base. But still the article intrigued me so I read on. Halfway into it I asked my wife of 32 years if she considered me to be her best friend. After a pregnant pause she replied, “I guess you are one of my best friends.”  I was stunned and kind of said so. I began to read parts of this article to her and of course she began to back peddle.
Funny, last night we watched Fiddler on the Roof and of course I asked, “Golda, do you love me?”
“After 32 years of cooking you dinner, mending your clothes, you ask if I love you?”……….
It is good to know that after all these years she still loves me, even if I may not be her best friend. LOL.
Postscript: we discussed this topic and by virtue of the direction of the conversation, the things we said to each other proved that we are indeed best friends. 🙂
NYTimes: Study Finds More Reasons to Get and Stay Married
http://nyti.ms/1Fr3X7X

Leave a Reply

