FEAR AND LOATHING…..

Many of you that read my blog know that on a couple of occasions I have used the term “Fear and Loathing” to begin to describe the direction that my blog is taking. Well where did ‘Fear and Loathing’ come from. If you are old enough like me, then you may recall the Gonzo Journalist from the 1960’s, ’70s, ’80,s Hunter S. Thompson.Image

 

Thompson is best known, today for his Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas movies. Yes there was an original and a remake. But he had other books that began with the Fear and Loathing title. Also Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail 1972. Another good read is Hells Angels: the Strange and Terrible Saga of the Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs. Hunter Thompson was as comfortable with a gun in his hands as he was at a typewriter. Needless to say drugs and alcohol were a big part of him too. I am not going to go into his life but you may click here to read about him. As wacked out as he was, he seemed to have his finger on the pusle of America of that time. Enough said. If you haven’t done so, read some of his work. It still holds up.

Ok so where am I going with this. Nowhere and everywhere. Tomorrow morning, early, I shall be leaving New Jersey with my son Adam,Image who lives in Burbank and is studying Acting to bring his car out there with him. I am honored that he wants me to make the trip with him. I hope that he knows what he is getting into. Traveling with me is a little Clark W. Griswald and some Hunter S. Thompson. No not the drugs and Alcohol but the Fear and Loathing part. We have a slight itinerary but for the most part we are going to wing it. I have some camping gear, and well stay at some motels but as long as I make it to LAX by 8:30pm on the 22nd all will be right in the world. 

Along the way he and I will be snapping pictures, and I am bring my tablet to blog with so check in and see how we make out. I haven’t done a trip like this since I was in College. They you say that you can never go back but you can go Furthur.

Leave a Reply

