SAINT DILBERT OF THE DEADHEADS

A TRUE SAINT FROM THE DAILY POST.

In 300 years, if you were to be named the patron saint of X, what would you like X to be? Places, activities, objects — all are fair game.

Being born of the Hebrew Persuasion I don’t have much knowledge of Saints. I know that there are things that the Catholic Religion goes through to make a Saint a Saint. In fact the only Saints that come to mind are Saint Stephen and Saint of Circumstance. When I was a young lad back in the early 1970’s I was introduced to a band that, little did I know, would become a major influence on my life, forever. The Grateful Dead. Now it took until 1976 for me to finally get to my first show, but even before seeing them I knew that this was more than just music. This was a way of life. Something about their music worked their way into the very fiber of my being. Oh I was, and am into many types of music and bands but the Dead are/were different. At first I thought it was just the music. Each song seemed to have a moral. They didn’t just play their own music but they covered music from all genres. Why The Garcia band would dig back into time and play music written by Irving Berlin but with a Garcia twist. The Dead would do everything from Marty Robbins to Bob Dylan. It was once said that not everybody can play the Dead but the Dead can play anybody. And they would do so with an eloquence that would take a tune and make it their own.

I could continue to go on in that vein but won’t because either you get it or you don’t. But for those that do, when my time comes to be a Saint I would want to be Saint Dilbert, Patron Saint of the Deadheads. Why? Well because Deadheads are a diverse and spread out group. Lawyers, Doctors, Artists, Musicians, Salespeople, Stock Exchange Traders, and the list goes on and on. All held together by a riff here and a solo there. 

Today the Grateful Dead are gone but their music and the way of life they extolled goes on. It must, or it shall be in vein. In the future, I as their Patron Saint would hope to be the guiding light to keep the music and the people alive. Never again in History will anything like the Grateful Dead occur. But that not mean that the lessons should fade away, the music should die, or the lifestyle can’t be preserved and improved on. St. Dilbert will keep the lovelight shining to bring them all coming together to dance and sway in our Mission in the Rain.

One thought on “SAINT DILBERT OF THE DEADHEADS

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A True Saint – Saint Blog and the Big Finger | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

