Experts Eye Oil and Gas Industry as Quakes Shake Oklahoma

Now please don’t get me wrong. I too have a love afair with my car, just as most Americans do. Afterall, as an American it is a God given right to get into my car and head off into the sunset or where ever else my mind and right foot (accelorator) take me. I love the idea of being able to get to New York City in about an hour, and then when I have had enough getting back home in about the same amount of time.
But, and here is the big but guys, I also have to question the methods that we use to make our cars go vroom. You see, I am also a tree hugger. I love the great outdoors, don’t believe that we should be drilling for oil in National or State Parks. It detracts from the view and the peace and quiet. God (the same one that gives me the right to drive my car) only made so much land and I believe that we have to save it for me and future generations.
(I have problems with uncontrolled logging too but that’s another topic for another day)
I wish that I could afford to get a hybrid vehicle. Is that the answer? Not really but it is a step in the right direction. Is an electric car the answer? Sadly not yet either unless you live in a city and don’t need to drive far.
The automobile is over a hundred years old now. Since the gas shortages of the 1970’s I have been hearing about government mandating cars get better gas mileage, but is seems that with every new Congress and Presidency that gets pushed back too.
So in our insatiable need for oil, we are now pushing fracking. A  technique where we force water down into the ground to get every last drop of oil to the surface. Now it appears that where they are doing this there is a rise in earthquakes. I’m not surprised.

Do I have an answer? Not really, but I bet someone does. And I bet that they work for a Gas company or an Automobile manufacturer, but alas, one hand washes the other and once again we, the public suffer.

Take a few minutes and read the article below while I go warm up my car for a ride to no where inparticular.

NYTimes: Experts Eye Oil and Gas Industry as Quakes Shake Oklahoma
http://nyti.ms/1e8c9gh

deadhead1155

Leave a Reply

